Uncategorized

New Year, New Blog

Well here we are, another year older and looking forward to a new year filled with reading and writing. I have my first (rough) volume of poetry out, and plan to use this blog as a place to cultivate new ideas, catalogue drafts, and get another volume out of whatever this new season will bring. I may post pictures from time to time, favorite songs, and links to relevant blogs or the latest inspirations.

I wanted to introduce myself, so you have a little insight on who I am and where I’m coming from. I was born and raised near the beach in Jacksonville, Florida. I have two older sisters, a younger brother, and parents who all still reside there. I am very fortunate to be close to my family; they are my biggest supporters! I went to college in St Augustine with my sister, who studied art, and decided on a Literature Major after my dreams of being a Marine Scientist were finally crushed by my lack of math skills.

I had always enjoyed writing, and was a voracious reader growing up, but I never saw myself making it anything other than a part-time hobby. After visiting my advisor in 2010, we found a hole in my schedule that she recommended I fill with a “fun class” – I ended up taking Introduction to Poetry, and directed my whole career to that end soon after.

I enjoy the challenges of language, form, and line breaks that poetry provides. Poems can be snippets of a feeling, epic ballads of memory, or anything jotted down on a restaurant napkin. They flex to fit the mood, day, and mind, and can summarize emotions I have trouble expressing any other way.

My main inspirations, poetry wise, include Marge Piercy, Sylvia Plath, Seamus Heany and Li-Young Lee. Literary wise, I prefer the classics: E.M. Forster, Jane Austin, Ernest Hemingway and Virginia Woolf. But I also enjoy reading anything by Daniel Handler, and have recently enjoyed Haruki Murakami. I believe to be a good writer, you have to be an even better reader-inspiration comes from multiple mediums, but the writing muscle is one that must be flexed and stretched often.

Thanks for visiting my page, here’s to a Happy New Year!

Standard

Leave a Reply

